- NMLEA Events Calendar
- Director's Page
- Basic Police Officer Training (BPOT)
- Certification By Waiver (CBW)
- Public Safety Telecommunicator
- In-Service Training
- Forms & Documents
- NM LEA Board
- Satellite Academies
- Albuquerque Police Department (APD) Training Academy
- Bernalillo County Sheriffs Office (BCSO) Training Academy
- Central New Mexico (CNM) Law Enforcement Academy
- Dona Ana County Sherriff's Office (DASO) Training Academy
- Las Cruces Police Department (LCPD) Training Academy
- New Mexico State Police (NMSP) Training Academy
- San Juan Criminal Justice Authority
- Southeastern New Mexico Law Enforcement
- Western NM University Police Academy
- Officer Misconduct
- Satellite Academies
- NM Law Enforcement Officer Memorial
- Join NMSP
- Uniform Bureau / District Offices
- Special Operations
- Search and Rescue
- Investigations Bureau
- Communications Bureau
- Cold Case Unit
- Port of Entry
- NMSP Events Calendar
- Training Bureau
- Recruiting and Public Information Bureau
- PIO News Release
- NMSP Leadership / Annual Report
- Internal Affairs and Standards Bureau
- NMSP Compliments and Complaints Portal
- Law Enforcement Support Services
- Budget Bureau
- Financial Management Bureau
- Law Enforcement Records Bureau
- Grants Management Bureau
- Coronavirus Emergency Supplemental Funding (CESF)
- Community Oriented Policing Services Anti-Methamphetamine Program
- DNA Capacity Enhancement For Backlog Reduction (CEBR) Program
- Edward Byrne Justice Assistance Grant Program
- High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area Program
- Law Enforcement Mental Health and Wellness Act Program
- Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program (MCSAP)
- Paul Coverdell Science Improvement Program
- Post-Conviction Testing of DNA Evidence to Exonerate the Innocent Program
- Prison Rape Elimination Act Program
- Project Safe Neighborhood (PSN)
- Residential Substance Abuse Treatment Program
- Sexual Assault Kit Initiative
- Support for Adam Walsh Act Implementation Grant Program
- Traffic Safety
- Victim of Crime Act - Victim Advocacy Program
- Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP)
- Funding Opportunities
- NM Sexual Assault Kit Initiative Program
- Grant Guidance and Resources
- Forensic Laboratory Bureau
- Information Technology
- Equal Employment Opportunity Bureau
- What’s Happening
The NMLEA offers reciprocity training leading to possible NM certification for some out-of-state law enforcement officers that are transferring to recognized New Mexico Law enforcement agencies for employment as full-time police officers. The Certification by Waiver program is authorized by §29-7-10, NMSA 1978 and administered by rules established by the NMLEA Board, outlined in §10.29.6 NMAC.
Click here to see if your previous training or experience is eligible for the NMLEA Certification by Waiver process. Begin, or resume, your New Mexico law enforcement career today!
Certification by Waiver Training
Every applicant for Certification by Waiver of previous training must meet all qualifications and requirements as established in New Mexico statutes and New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy Board administrative rules.
Applicant experience and training must be equivalent to the current minimum standards of training curriculum in effect at the time of application, which is currently 675 hours, unless such deficiencies are covered in the Certification by Waiver Program.
The Director may consider the applicant’s certified law enforcement experience and give credit of 40 hours per year for each year of service, up to but not to exceed ten (10) years, for a total of 400 hours and, the applicant will receive credit for advanced training, up to but not to exceed 400 hours.
Per §10.29.6.6J NMAC, 80 hours of academy accredited training is required for successful completion of the Certification by Waiver training program and include the following:
- Ethics and sexual harassment – 8 hours;
- Search and seizure – 16 hours;
- New Mexico legal block – 16 hours
- Dealing with the mentally ill – 8 hours;
- Use of force and training simulator – 16 hours;
- Domestic violence and human trafficking – 8 hours;
- Reality based training scenarios – 4 hours;
- Administrative time – 1 hour;
- Law enforcement officers’ certification exam – 3 hours;
Certification by Waiver Application Process
Applications for attendance are due no later than 30-days after hire per §10.29.9.10B(1) NMAC. Approved applicants will be assigned to the next scheduled class.
Completed applications must be received 14 business days prior to the advertised start date of a given class, BPOT PST, CBW.
CBW Application Packet Part 1
CBW Application Packet Part 2
CBW Accreditation Worksheet
Certification by Waiver Class Schedule
|CBW 108||June 12-24, 2022|
|CBW 109||September 18-30, 2022|
|CBW 110||December 4-16, 2022|
|CBW 111||April 2-14, 2023|
|CBW 112||June 11-23, 2023|
|CBW 113||September 17-29, 2023|
|CBW 114||December 3-15, 2023|
View Calendar of Events
Law Enforcement Officer Certification Exam (LEOCE) Challenge
A waiver process to become a certified peace officer in the State of New Mexico exists for those individuals whom the Board has previously certified but whose certification has become inactive or for those individuals who have functioned as a peace officer in another state or with the federal government whose training and experience substantially conform to the basic course curriculum of New Mexico. For those wanting to challenge the exam, per 10.29.6.8 NMAC, the requirements are as follows:
Once an applicant has successfully met the requirements, the applicant shall complete one of the following paths to successfully meet the certification requirements:
(1) The applicant’s agency will provide documentation attesting to the applicant’s successful completion of 80 hours of accredited training. Upon review and approval of submitted documentation of training, the applicant will then be eligible to challenge, and must successfully pass with a minimum score of seventy (70%) percent, the law enforcement officer’s certification examination (LEOCE).
In addition, your CBW part I and Part II packets must be complete and approved prior to challenging the exam.
(2) If the applicant is unable to complete any of 80 hours of accredited training, or did not successfully pass the LEOCE, the applicant will be required to attend the eighty (80) hour certification by waiver training program and successfully pass, with a minimum score of seventy percent, the LEOCE.
Applicants will have two opportunities to successfully pass the LEOCE. If an applicant is unable to pass the LEOCE after two attempts he or she will be required to attend and pass the basic police officer training program.
Challenge Examination Dates
The challenge exam is given by appointment only. Please verify eligibility and confirm a test date with the Training Bureau at 505-827-9252. Those who do not have confirmation will not be allowed to take the exam.
Renewal of Certification After Absence
Any previously certified New Mexico peace officer MUST attend the Certification by Waiver program if they have been out of commissioned law enforcement for more than two (2) years without six (6) consecutive months of service.
Any applicant who HAS NOT been employed as a full-time law enforcement officer for a period of more than eight (8) years MUST attend the basic police officer training program to become certified.
Still Have Questions? Contact Us
Training Staff Directory
Deputy Director of Training
Curriculum Development Specialist